Workout Motivational Playlist

As I’ve finally worked up the nerve to become a routine member at a gym, I thought I’d share my motivation playlist. Similarly to how darts players enter the arena with a walk on song, I feel the same treatment is needed for a trip to the sports centre, and through the duration of a workout. Especially since what better tool for motivation is there than music? I’ve found songs with fast choruses to be the most useful, as those are the moments fitness enthusiasts, such as myself, up both their game and their speed. They are perfect for when you find yourself at a crossroads and really need that extra push.

As you can see, I’ve only added 15 songs. This is because at over three minutes each, the songs average out to more than 50 minutes in total and therefore the playlist itself acts as a rough time guide as well as motivation to stay at the gym for a specific length. I’m sure once my body gets used to going to the gym I’ll add more songs and stay there for longer, but for now, I’m more than happy with this list.

Without further ado, and in no particular order, here it is:

  • Survivor – Eye of the Tiger

An absolute must have when it comes to getting all pumped up for a workout. The catchy rhythm allows the listener to maintain a constant speed, and the punchy riffs could make anyone want to move, all before the fitness blasting chorus kicks in. If it’s good enough for Rocky Balboa during his boxing training, it’s good enough for me.

  • Reel 2 Real – I Like To Move It

A song repeatedly telling you to move it, it’d be near impossible not to listen.

  • Blur – Song 2

The upbeat singalong tune acts as the perfect motivator. It has fast paced rhythms whereby individuals can really pick up the pace, and then the song even rewards you with “woohoo’s”.

  • Anastasia – To Be Left Outside Alone
  • Arctic Monkeys – I Bet You Look Good on the Dance Floor

I bet you definitely will post workout.

  • Bon Jovi – It’s My Life

  • Franz Ferdinand – Take Me Out
  • Montell Jordan – This Is How We Do It
  • Eminem – Lose yourself

Lose yourself in the moment, lose weight at the same time. What could go wrong?

  • Katrina and the Waves – Walking On Sunshine
  • Rage Against the Machine – Killing in the Name

Anger is a great motivator, and RATM use thrash metal to portray their distaste for political authority and fitness enthusiasts can transfer that energy into something positive and make the most of their workout.

  • The Prodigy – Omen
  • Foo Fighters – The Pretender
  • Kaiser Chiefs – I Predict a Riot
  • James Brown – I Feel Good

The ultimate feel good song that’s the perfect way to end a gym session. It highlights how good you feel within yourself after completing a workout and getting a step closer to your fitness goal.

Rae Coppola

Leave a Reply

