AUTUMN BUYS: My ‘Next’ Shopping Haul

After months of looking wishfully through the catalogue and using my mother’s Next directory card, I finally realised I could have her recommend me for my own, thus earning us both £20 off a £50 spend.

Naturally, I took full advantage of this on both full price and clearance items.

download

  1. Khaki Peacoat – £55

As an autumn must have I’d had this beauty saved to my favourites bar ever since it hit the website, and then after seeing it in-store and trying it on, I knew it had to be mine. The colour is on trend, and the ensemble can be completed with neutral accessories such as a hat and scarf. The hat, again, bought from Next last year.

  1. White dungarees – £13

I actually thought ahead with this purchase, as although it’s definitely not the season to wear white dungarees, they would be perfect to take on my inevitable summer holiday next year, or to wear when the weather gets a tad warmer. Being white they will go with anything, and be timeless, meaning that they are something I can keep and wear year after wear. Plus, buying them now meant that I got them for a lovely price, and didn’t break the bank like I know I would have done if I bought them in the summer – if they were even still in stock in my size.

  1. Leather look pleated skirt – £6

I couldn’t believe my luck when I found this item while searching through the further reductions section of the clearance pages. At £6 (reduced from £32), this faux leather skirt was an absolute bargain, and my only regret was not buying another for my friends birthday. I’d work my look around the current ‘gothic romance’ trend, making sure to vamp up my eye make-up with heavy liner, and wear a dark berry colour on my lips. However, since it flares out quite a lot, linking in with the 70’s revival, I’d definitely have to style it with a tight fitting top as to not lose my figure, but that’s a price, pun intended, I’m willing to pay.

You got short changed girl, I win.

  1. Mink 70’s Platform Heels – £17

I thought I’d get some shoes to match the 2015 70’s fashion trend, and these seemed ideal. After seeing them in black I was tempted, but this mink colour had my heart set. It makes them stand out of the crowd and really showcases the snake print pattern on the chunky heel. That, contrasting with the suede like appearance, means the heels are something completely different to anything in circulation, and hopefully, will ensure no one else wears anything similar on the same night.

  1. Waterfall jacket – £19

With the colder weather settling in, but student club nights ever prominent, it was essential that I buy a jacket to wear over my evening attire for warmth. At least that’s what I kept telling myself to justify buying yet another blazer like item. The jacket is tailored to fit curves nicely and finish off any outfit with a smart twist. I know I’ll definitely get my wear out of a product like this, as a black jacket is timeless and a wardrobe must-have. Or in my case, a wardrobe that must have lots.


Total amount spent = £110 (minus the £20 for being recommended by my mother = £90). I regret nothing.

Let me know if you’ve found any great buys in the autumn collection or mid-season sale that I may have missed!

Rae Coppola

Leave a Reply

