Could YOU go without social media?

Yesterday, I forgot to take my phone out in the morning when I rushed to my lecture. In hindsight, it was probably the best decision I’ve made all week. Despite spending the first 10 minutes retracing steps in my mind in an attempt to work out if I put it in my bag or not, for the remainder I was reasonably focussed, especially in contrast to my usual concentration levels.

Managing 3 hours made me wonder if I could perhaps manage 24? A week? A year? And better yet, if I would even want to?

Australian teenager, Essena O’Neill, was recently in the news for quitting Instagram and claiming social media ‘is not real life’. In her first post, dated 31 October, she challenged her followers to go without social media, and recommended Eckhart Tolle’s book The Power of Now.

But would anyone actually take up the challenge?

Out of curiousity, I asked my Twitter followers whether they’d willingly go without it for one day.

Two thirds of people said yes, I’ll admit I’m part of this fraction, but would the voters actually manage the entire day? Would they have a sneak peak? Would they use someone else’s social media account? Is it even possible to go a full day without seeing some sort of platform?

Those that said no: Is there a justified reason? Do they have it to stay in touch with people they otherwise couldn’t? Otherwise: has social media taken over their life? Are they not willing to even try?

I sure will at some point in the near future, so keep your eyes peeled for when the time comes and I write about it.

Let me know if you’ve already tried going back to basics, I’d love to know how it went.

Rae Coppola

3 thoughts on “Could YOU go without social media?”

  1. I made the decision to deactivate my Facebook account over a week ago now, and in the first couple of days I’ll admit, I did use a friend’s account just to see what was going on but I’d say it’s been a full week without any facebook interaction and I’ve definitely noticed a change. As I still have Instagram and Twitter, I’m still active on social media, so I can’t fully say that my attention has increased. However, getting rid of Facebook was a personal satisfaction in the sense that I no longer feel the need to compare my life to others, nor am I brought down by seeing stuff on there from people I know or once knew

    Like

    1. Massive well done to you for managing to do it, Seher! Sometimes I really wish I could altogether for reasons very similar to your own, but I’m planning on going into a career based around social media and blogging, so I feel if I did it for a long time I’d become outdated and a bit of a hypocrite. I’d love to give it a try to see how it makes me feel though, and around exam times I’ll definitely be pressing the de-activate button!

      Like

  2. This is an amazing post! I’m currently writing my final film project around social media and how it can warp and ruin relationships. I’m glad I’m not the only one who looks into the use of the internet and stuff that way. I know I love my social media way too much to get rid of it forever but for a few hours a day it is nice to step back and spend some time with real life people instead of the ones online.
    Great post!
    Shona xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

